Cha Kueh Vendor

Since this is going to be the last day of the year 2012 and humanity did not end on the 21st Dec, so i think i will just continue to post and life goes on. Just like to wish all my readers a wonderful New Year celebration, be safe and have fun and hope next year is even more amazing for you.

This is a Cha Kueh vendor, he normally works on a trishaw and parks at street corner or at hawker centre. The Cha Kueh (meaning fry cake in chinese Teochew dialect) is actually stir frying little square shape of soft white carrot cake with garlic and egg. you could order it either spicy or sweet. Very delicious, it’s a chinese Teochew delicacy and usually it’s eaten as breakfast. It can be found almost in any part of Malaysia and Singapore. The big “Wok” (saucer pan) is where the magic happen, mixing all the ingredients with a good fire, in a matter of minutes it’s done. The smell is just mouth-watering.

cha kueh vendor

6 Responses to “Cha Kueh Vendor”

  1. Happy New Year Francis – Hope it’s not REALLY snowing in Malaysia or I’ll be thinking the world’s gone upside down! (23°C on Christmas eve was not normal for the France /Spain border!) Hope 2013 is good to you & your family.

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Happy New Year. This is a wonderful painting. I enjoy the explanations you provide. With this one I can almost tast the goodness.

  3. Hi Francis, Happy New Year (a little late) and I’m glad you decided to keep on painting. I really like this painting. The Cha Kueh sounds yummy.

  4. Good painting, Francis. I want to try one of these! Sounds good.

  5. Hi Francis

    How have you been? I heard you were back for the CNY. Guess you’re back in KL now? This char kueh vendor painting is spot on. Great detailed work complete with the Esso/ Shell cylinder. Ha ha ha! I don’t miss char kueh now, cause if I craved for it, I’ll make it myself.

    Keep painting and take care!

  6. this char kueh vendor is in my hometown^^ nice

Leave a Reply

