Dahlia

Another photo challenge from Rookie Painter blog. Thought of participanting in it, so i give it a try during the weekend. Wow, at first i thought i would finished it within 2 hrs after sketching and put on the base colors (Red mixed with dash of yellow and white) but then the more i paint i put the more correction i need to do, i guess pink is a bit hard for me to mixed it right (i’m using 24 colors Holbain, so pink is not one of them). All in all the painting too me 5 hrs (two days work). Still not achieveing my liking, it’s not vibrant enough. Will try to do it better the next round.

Here is the link to the painting challenge (with the reference photo and other painting posted by artist)

19 Responses to “Dahlia”

  1. I think you did a remarkable job, Francis. The color permanent rose is the closest I have to pink. I don’t have anything that looks just pink. This flower you have painted looks like I could reach out and touch it as though it is the real thing!!!

    • Thank you for inspiring me Leslie. Well i try my best. Will try to look for permanent rose the next time paint anything pink.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Lovely, I like the softness you achieved.

  3. Francis, this is beautiful. The petals are so soft and delicate. The shadows are great. You have captured the essence of this flower.

  4. Lovely looking flower great job.

  5. Wow, Francis! This flower is fantastic! The dark background really sets it off. The whites are sparkling, and it is soft and touchable – amazing work!

    I never used ready-made pinks from a tube myself. I mix my pinks from primaries, and mix and mix … until I get the tone I want. I decide which pink I want to achieve – warm or cool, and that determines which set pf primaries I would use for mixing. I am not sure if this is the kind of a suggestion you are looking for, but it is what I do.

    • Thanks Alex, i’m glad you like the flower. I will use yours and Leslie suggestion. I guess need to try and error before we can get the color right. Thanks again for the advice.

  6. It does stand out well against the simple dark background. And it doesn’t surprise me at all that it took 5 hours – in fact I’d have thought it could have taken longer to build up all those layers. I like the reverse silhouttette effect of the light outer petals too.

  7. This looks fantastic.
    But why do they call it rookie arts.
    You’re way more advanced than that

  8. This is soft and gentle just like a dahlia. Your technique is impeccable and the painting is really lovely. I have to mix my pinks and I think you did an excellent job. The color is just right for this flower.

  9. i really like the old rose color you got – it’s beautiful! and you really got the petals to turn & form so nicely – lovely w/ the background you choose, too!

  10. Missed this one somehow, absolutely stunning, you have an amazing talent with light and this paintings show off your abilities. Great job!

  11. Boss, i like this very much. 🙂

  12. Mary McClintock Says:

    Your paintings are an inspiration. I like the dahlia!

  13. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100%
    certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

